Cherry Blossom Wedding/TOM’S Groom’s cake

ImageImageImage

My sister’s wedding cake.  I looked at about a million pictures of cherry blossom tree cakes and just loved one that I found with the branches painted on instead of using fondant (thankfully that was the one my sister loved too).  It was quite difficult to “paint” on buttercream, but I just love the way it turned out.  The other hard part was forming each and every flower out of gum paste…..I had never even worked with gum paste before this cake so it took me a while.  This was by far the hardest cake I’ve done to date, but definitely my favorite :)  Thanks for trusting me to make your cake Kels :)

ImageImageImageImage

The groom’s cake.  My sister’s husband is a huge TOM’S fan, so we had to do it.  I was so relieved when they turned out good!!

2 thoughts on “Cherry Blossom Wedding/TOM’S Groom’s cake

  1. Hi… such a beautiful cake! Can I ask you how you painted on the buttercream? What did you use to paint with it? (Like, edible markers?) Thank you!

    • Hi! You know, I mostly used some powdered icing colors that I mixed with a little bit of clear vanilla extract to make a “paint” and then I just freehanded the branches with some little paint brushes I got from Michael’s. I’m not gonna lie, it was a little bit difficult to do it on buttercream, it would be a LOT easier on fondant. Hope that helps! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

